DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : sports : sports
October 22, 2018

10/12/2018 11:02:00 AM
Robinson XC boys win Little Illini title
Sports Editor

Championships continue to pile up for Robinson High School's boys' cross country team.

The Maroons claimed their third title in less than a month after winning the Little Illini Conference championship Tuesday (Oct. 9) in Olney.

"We had a pretty good day," RHS head coach Tony Cork said. "It was a pretty exciting race and pretty close between us and Olney."

Robinson placed four runners among the top seven overall on their way to scoring 37 points, which was just ahead of Olney, who finished second with 45. Marshall came in third with 62, followed by Lawrenceville-Red Hill (91), Casey-Westfield (154), Newton (164) and Paris (175). Flora also competed, but did not have enough runners to post a team score.

Negus Bogard led RHS, as he won the race with a time of 15:30, three seconds ahead of Olney's Gavin Kirby, who finished second in 15:33. Maverick Wright came in fifth in the 68-runner field with a time of 16:45, Wyatt Bonnell finished sixth in 17:01, Koty Amdahl was seventh in 17:04 and Parker Middleton also scored with his 19th-place finish in 17:50.

"Our times were pretty good, especially with the heat," Cork said. "Koty ran great and all the other times were good."

In the girls' meet, Robinson finished fourth among the five full teams competing with 103 points. Paris came in behind the Lady Maroons with 105, while Lawrenceville-Red Hill won with 32 points, followed by Newton (49) and Olney (63).

Top finisher for RHS was Kady Kamp in 12th out of 56 runners with a time of 22:20, while Sami Johnson finished 20th in 23:24. Also scoring for RHS were Andrea Schalburg in 26th (24:27), Stevee Walker in 31st (25:31) and Julia Gallion in 32nd (25:33).

"The girls did not run quite as well as they had been," Cork said.

Individual champion was Newton's Abby Stone with a time of 19:35.

The top 10 finishers in each race all earned All-Conference honors.

2018 Little Illini Conference Cross Country Meet

At Olney


Team scores - Robinson 37, Olney 45, Marshall 62, Lawrenceville-Red Hill 91, Casey-Westfield 154, Newton 164, Paris 175, Flora NS.

Top 10 individuals (All-Conference) - 1. Negus Bogard (Robinson) 15:30; 2. Gavin Kirby (Olney) 15:33; 3. Cort Ross (Casey-Westfield) 15:37; 4. Braden Nicholson (Olney) 16:22; 5. Maverick Wright (Robinson) 16:45; 6. Wyatt Bonnell (Robinson) 17:01; 7. Koty Amdahl (Robinson) 17:04; 8. Barak Berger (Olney) 17:05; 9. Adam Richey (Marshall) 17:08; 10. Keaton Hancock (Olney) 17:12.

RHS results - 1. Negus Bogard 15:30; 5. Maverick Wright 16:45; 6. Wyatt Bonnell 17:01; 7. Koty Amdahl 17:04; 19. Parker Middleton 17:50; 24. Trayton Tragesser 18:26; 34. Lucas Blunier 19:20; 45. Carter Shew 20:24; 46. Will Hawkins 20:28.


Team scores - Lawrenceville-Red Hill 32, Newton 49, Olney 63, Robinson 103, Paris 105, Marshall NS, Casey-Westfield NS.

Top 10 individuals (All-Conference) - 1. Abby Stone (Newton) 19:35; 2. Katie Moore (Lawrenceville-Red Hill) 20:52; 3. Ophelia Klein (Lawrenceville-Red Hill) 20:53; 4. Josie Grunloh (Newton) 21:08; 5. Rylea Borgic (Newton) 21:10; 6. Ally Compton (Marshall) 21:16; 7. Kyanne Waggoner (Lawrenceville-Red Hill) 21:17; 8. Hope Laughlin (Olney) 21:33; 9. Emma Gard (Marshall) 21:39; 10. Danni Murphy (Olney) 21:47.

RHS results - 12. Kady Kamp 22:20; 20. Sami Johnson 23:14; 26. Andrea Schalburg 24:27; 31. Stevee Walker 25:31; 32. Julia Gallion 25:33; 38. Katie Amdahl 26:37; 53. Kaitlyn Stephens 30:45; 54. Destanee Liston 31:29; 55. Ashton Roberts 32:26; 56. Makayla Collins 38:59.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

Site Design and Content Copyright 2018 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved