DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : sports : sports
October 22, 2018

10/12/2018 10:57:00 AM
County golfers unable to advance to state
IHSA Golf Sectional Roundup
Sports Editor

None of the four local golfers that took to the course for Sectional play were able to extend their seasons Monday.

Crawford County was represented by four individuals (three girls, one boy) at tournaments in Centralia and Effingham, but none of them were able to score well enough to advance to this weekend's state meets.

At the IHSA Class 1A Effingham St. Anthony Boys Sectional, Hutsonville's Trent Matthews improved his score from the Regional, but still came up short of earning a qualifying spot.

Matthews finished his Sectional round at Effingham Country Club with an 88 to finish tied for 42nd overall in the 111-player field. His score was six shots off the final qualifying score of 82 by Vienna's Josh McGill and Greenville's Sam Knebel.

Medalist was Carmi's Oakley Gee with a round of even-par 72.

Hillsboro won the team competition with a score of 317, while also qualifying as a team were Effingham St. Anthony (321) and Carmi (327).

At the IHSA Class 1A Centralia Sectional, none of the three local girls competing were able to come close to obtaining a qualifying spot.

Top local finisher was Oblong's Abbie Dart, who tied for 49th overall out of 104 golfers with her round of 94. Her score was 10 shots behind the final qualifying slot of 84 earned by Effingham's Ava Boehm.

Also for Oblong, Nyah Laino shot a 104 to finish in a tie for 79th.

Meanwhile, Robinson's Nyah Schulte tied for 75th with a score of 102.

Meet medalist was McLeansboro (Hamilton County)'s Kylee Vaughan with a three-over-par 73.

Pinckneyville won the team title with a score of 335, while also advancing to state as a team were Metropolis (Massac County) 337) and Alton Marquette (339), who advanced over Columbia (339) via the sixth-player tiebreaker.

2018 IHSA Class 1A Effingham St. Anthony Boys Golf Sectional

At Effingham Country Club

Team scores - Hillsboro 317, Effingham St. Anthony 321, Carmi 327, West Frankfort 331, Nashville 341, Waterloo Gibault 346, Raymond Lincolnwood 349, Vandalia 353, Trenton Wesclin 357, McLeansboro (Hamilton County) 362, Campbell Hill (Trico) 366, Anna-Jonesboro 377.

Top 10 individuals - 1. Oakley Gee (Carmi) 72; 2. Jarrett James (Chester) 73; 3. Alex White (Hillsboro) 74; 4. Tyson Elko (West Frankfort) 76; 5. Luke Ludwig (Effingham St. Anthony) 77; 6. Alex Eickhoff (Hillsboro) 78; 6. Austyn Downen (Hamilton County) 78; 6. Chase Laack (Vandalia) 78; 6. D.J. Villhard (Glen Carbon Father McGivney) 78; 10. Luke Flaig (Effingham St. Anthony) 79; 10. Wade Ruth (Mt. Carmel) 79.

Advancing individuals (from non-qualifying teams) - Jarrett James (Chester) 73; Tyson Elko (West Frankfort) 76; Austyn Downen (Hamilton County) 78; Chase Laack (Vandalia) 78; D.J. Villhard (Glen Carbon Father McGivney) 78; Wade Ruth (Mt. Carmel) 79; Kelton Harre (Nashville) 80; Dalton Saeger (Ziegler-Royalton) 81; Josh McGill (Vienna) 82; Sam Knebel (Greenville) 82.

Hutsonville - 42. Trent Matthews 88.

2018 IHSA Class 1A Centralia Girls Golf Sectional

At Greenview Golf Course, Centralia

Team scores - Pinckneyville 335, Metropolis (Massac County) 337, Alton Marquette 339, Columbia 339, Effingham 343, Effingham St. Anthony 347, Mt. Carmel 375, Teutopolis 375, McLeansboro (Hamilton County) 376, Bethalto Civic Memorial 383, Carterville 398, Waltonville 453.

Top 10 individuals - 1. Kylee Vaughan (Hamilton County) 73; 2. Megan Breslin (Pinckneyville) 78; 3. Hannah Gahagan (Murphysboro) 79; 3. Brooke Tuttle (Jerseyville) 79; 5. Madie Coakley (Massac County) 80; 5. Gracie Piar (Alton Marquette) 80; 5. Abbi Burgess (Effingham) 80; 5. Graci McDaniel (Pinckneyville) 80; 9. Mikaela Kossina (Columbia) 81; 9. Chloe Kraus (Okawville) 81; 9. Audrey Wilke (Highland) 81.

Advancing individuals (from non-qualifying teams) - Kylee Vaughan (Hamilton County) 73; Hannah Gahagan (Murphysboro) 79; Brooke Tuttle (Jerseyville) 79; Abbi Burgess (Effingham) 80; Mikaela Kossina (Columbia) 81; Chloe Kraus (Okawville) 81; Audrey Wilke (Highland) 81; Ava Wegman (St. Anthony) 82; Casey Wagner (Columbia) 82; Ava Boehm (Effingham) 84.

Oblong - 49. Abbie Dart 94; 79. Nyah Laino 104.

Robinson - 75. Nyah Schulte 102.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

Site Design and Content Copyright 2018 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved