DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : sports : sports
October 22, 2018

10/11/2018 8:31:00 AM
Two from OHS, one from RHS advance at girls golf regional
Sports Editor

Three girls from Crawford County extended their golf seasons Wednesday (Oct. 3), while the only full team in the county fell just short at the IHSA Class 1A Girls Golf Sectional in Effingham.

Oblong had two players qualify as individuals for next week's sectional, while Robinson had one.

Advancing from OHS were Nyah Laino with her round of 91 to place 13th, along with teammate Abbie Dart, who shot a 98 and finished in a tie for 23rd. Meanwhile, Robinson's Nyah Schulte came in with a 90 to qualify as well, as she posted the lowest score among players from non-advancing teams and finished 12th overall.

Oblong narrowly missed on qualifying as a team, as they finished fourth in the nine-team field with a score of 391. Effingham St. Anthony won with a score of 318, while Effingham (340) and Teutopolis (386) took the remaining two qualifying slots. Completing the field were Breese Central (406), Highland (420), Ramsey (464), Staunton (478) and Hillsboro (489).

In addition to Laino's 91 and Dart's 98, Maggie Cross scored with a 100, as did Katelyn Leggitt with a 102. Rounds of 136 by Morgan Gill and 163 by Kali Hardig did not count toward the team total.

Robinson's Maddie Byrley also competed, finishing her round with a 108.

Medalist was Effingham St. Anthony's Ava Wegman with a 71.

2018 IHSA Class 1A Girls Golf Regional

At Effingham Country Club

Team scores - Effingham St. Anthony 318, Effingham 340, Teutopolis 386, Oblong 391, Breese Central 406, Highland 420, Ramsey 464, Staunton 478, Hillsboro 489.

Top 10 individuals - 1. Ava Wegman (St. Anthony) 71; 2. Macy Ludwig (St. Anthony) 78; 3. Morgan Krouse (Effingham) 83; 4. Reagan Westendorf (St. Anthony) 84; 4. Ava Boehm (Effingham) 84; 6. Ellie Wegman (St. Anthony) 85; 6. Kennedy Collier (Effingham) 85; 8. Clare McHugh (St. Anthony) 88; 8. Morgan Schuette (St. Anthony) 88; 8. Keira Hirtzel (Effingham) 88.

Advancing individuals (from non-qualifying teams) - Nyah Schulte (Robinson) 90; Nyah Laino (Oblong) 91; Audrey Wilke (Highland) 94; Addie Smith (Altamont) 94; Hannah Luketich (Staunton) 96; Peyton Jeckstadt (Breese Central) 97; Tess Saathoff (Hillsboro) 97; Abbie Dart (Oblong) 98; Cecelia Ritter (Ramsey) 98; Grace McIntyre (Breese Central) 99.

Effingham St. Anthony (318) - Ava Wegman 71, Macy Ludwig 78, Reagan Westendorf 84, Ellie Wegman 85, Clare McHugh 88, Morgan Schuette 88.

Effingham (340) - Morgan Krouse 83, Ava Boehm 84, Kennedy Collier 85, Keira Hirtzel 88, Abbi Burgess 89, Anna Sigg 92.

Teutopolis (386) - Averie Bushue 92, Madeline Hoene 96, Allie Niebrugge 96, Mattie Thoele 102, Maggie Koester 104, Macy Vogt 117.

Oblong (391) - Nyah Laino 91, Abbie Dart 98, Katelyn Leggitt 102, Maggie Cross 100, Morgan Gill 136, Kali Hardig 163.

Robinson - Nyah Schulte 90, Maddie Byrley 108.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

Site Design and Content Copyright 2018 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved