DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : sports : sports
November 17, 2017

11/3/2017 8:57:00 AM
Maroons 2nd at Sectional, advance to state
H-P's Bogard places 6th overall, also qualifies for state
Sports Editor

Another solid day for Crawford County runners resulted in one team and one individual qualifying for the state meet following their performances in less than ideal conditions at the IHSA Class 1A Cross Country Sectional in Carlinville on a cold and windy Saturday morning (Oct. 28).

Robinson High School's boys' team qualified for the state meet yet again with a second-place finish in the 21-team field. The Maroons finished the meet with 137 points, placing them behind only St. Joseph-Ogden, who won with 99 points. Also qualifying for the state meet by finishing in the top-five were Urbana University High (142), Carlinville (151) and Lawrenceville-Red Hill (183), while rounding out the field were Cumberland (217), Champaign St. Thomas More (217), Tuscola (254), Glen Carbon Father McGivney (266), Effingham St. Anthony (267), Marshall (281), Tolono Unity (302), Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond (313), Neoga (338), Teutopolis (389), Hutsonville-Palestine (396), Roxana (401), Casey-Westfield (426), Litchfield (445), Chrisman (511) and Paris (515).

"I am very happy for the kids that they get to go to state," RHS head coach Tony Cork said. "They were ready to run and did a nice job."

Top finisher for RHS was Lukas Baird, who finished 11th in the 157-runner field with a time of 15:51. Wyatt Bonnell was not far behind in 15th with a time of 16:03, while Maverick Wright was 30th in 16:22, Kobe Lorance was 42nd in 16:41 and Koty Amdahl also scored with a 55th-place finish in 16:59.

"Every kid had their season or career-best time except for Kobe, who was 11 seconds off and that was with him throwing up off and on throughout the race."

Meanwhile, even though Hutsonville-Palestine did not advance to the state meet, they did get an individual qualifier. Negus Bogard turned in a sixth-place effort with a time of 15:44 to qualify for the state finals and become the first Tiger to advance to state since the program was reinstated a few years ago.

"Negus ran such a hard race with rough conditions at a very challenging Sectional," HHS-PHS head coach Caleb Will said. "All of the training this season set him up to compete at his first cross country state competition as a sophomore."

Others to score for the Tigers were Nathan More in 41st (16:39), Adam Pickering in 113th (17:52), Chase Knoblett was 138th (18:48) and Blaine Beabout was 147th (19:24).

"The rest of the team had personal records or were close to their best, which is outstanding and crazy due to the cold conditions," Will said. "Nathan ran his best and Adam, Chase, Blaine and Evan all ran faster than they had before. Maybe they were excited to get back on the warm bus, but whatever the reason, they ran very well. We finished 16th after being projected to finish 20th or 21st based off scores from regionals, so I am very proud of the team."

In the girls' meet, Robinson's Sami Johnson finished 38th in 20:16 and Andrea Schalburg was 103rd with a time of 22:44 in a field of 150 runners, but neither were able to advance to the state meet.

"Sami had her career-best time and that was Andrea's season-best time," Cork said. "It was an excellent way to finish the season and a great experience for them."

St. Joseph-Ogden also won the girls' meet with 56 points, finishing just ahead of Tolono Unity, who was second with 59. Also advancing to state were Champaign St. Thomas More (92), Staunton (190) and Teutopolis (198).

Individual champion was Champaign St. Thomas More's Fran Hendrickson with a time of 17:44.

2017 IHSA Class 1A Cross Country Sectional

At Macoupin County Fairgrounds, Carlinville


Team scores - St. Joseph-Ogden 99, Robinson 137, Urbana University High 142, Carlinville 151, Lawrenceville-Red Hill 183, Cumberland 217, Champaign St. Thomas More 217, Tuscola 254, Glen Carbon Father McGivney 266, Effingham St. Anthony 267, Marshall 281, Tolono Unity 302, Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond 313, Neoga 338, Teutopolis 389, Hutsonville-Palestine 396, Roxana 401, Casey-Westfield 426, Litchfield 445, Chrisman 511, Paris 515.

Top 10 individuals - 1. Logan Hall (Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond) 15:12; 2. Braden Pridemore (St. Joseph-Ogden) 15:35; 3. Wyatt Wolfersberger (St. Joseph-Ogden) 15:37; 4. Ryan Skowronski (Shelbyville) 15:44; 5. Jefferson Ross Bushur (Glen Carbon Father McGivney) 15:44; 6. Negus Bogard (Hutsonville-Palestine) 15:44; 7. Kort McClellan (Cumberland) 15:45; 8. Jason Landon (Carlinville) 15:45; 9. Cameron Woodard (Tolono Unity) 15:48; 10. Layton Hall (Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond) 15:49.

Advancing runners (from non-qualifying teams) - 1. Logan Hall (Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond) 15:12; 4. Ryan Skowronski (Shelbyville) 15:44; 5. Jefferson Ross Bushur (Glen Carbon Father McGivney) 15:44; 6. Negus Bogard (Hutsonville-Palestine) 15:44; 7. Kort McClellan (Cumberland) 15:45; 9. Cameron Woodard (Tolono Unity) 15:48; 10. Layton Hall (Arthur-Lovington-Atwood-Hammond) 15:49.

RHS results - 11. Lukas Baird 15:51; 15. Wyatt Bonnell 16:03; 30. Maverick Wright 16:22; 42. Kobe Lorance 16:41; 55. Koty Amdahl 16:59; 79. Zach Buttolph 17:22; 83. Parker Middleton 17:25.

HHS-PHS results - 6. Negus Bogard 15:44; 41. Nathan More 16:39; 113. Adam Pickering 17:52; 138. Chase Knoblett 18:48; 147. Blaine Beabout 19:24; 155. Evan Holscher 20:39.


Team scores - St. Joseph-Ogden 56, Tolono Unity 59, Champaign St. Thomas More 92, Staunton 190, Teutopolis 198, Litchfield 224, Lawrenceville-Red Hill 245, Neoga 261, Cumberland 278, Cowden-Herrick 287, Effingham St. Anthony 310, Roxana 322, Champaign Judah Christian 332, Paris 343, Tuscola 374, Newton 435, Dieterich 453, Shelbyville 467, Moweaqua Central A&M 475, Bismarck-Henning-Rossville-Alvin 487, Edwardsville Metro-East Lutheran 581.

Top 10 individuals - 1. Fran Hedrickson (Champaign St. Thomas More) 17:44; 2. Lydia Roller (Staunton) 17:47; 3. Caroline Bachert (Tolono Unity) 17:50; 4. Laura Krasa (Champaign Judah Christian) 18:05; 5. Evelyn Atkins (Tolono Unity) 18:12; 6. Faith Houston (St. Joseph-Ogden) 18:14; 7. Ailey Mitchell (Shelbyville) 18:18; 8. Marguerite Hendrickson (Champaign St. Thomas More) 18:31; 9. Jasmyn Dittamore (Cumberland) 18:31; 10. Cassidy Bagby (St. Joseph-Ogden) 18:32.

Advancing runners (from non-qualifying teams) - 4. Laura Krasa (Champaign Judah Christian) 18:05; 7. Ailey Mitchell (Shelbyville) 18:18; 9. Jasmyn Dittamore (Cumberland) 18:31; 16. Sarah Carr (Effingham St. Anthony) 18:43; 19. Madi Throne (Litchfield) 18:51; 20. Emmalyn Walk (Neoga) 18:54; 22. Katie Moore (Lawrenceville-Red Hill) 18:58.

RHS results - 38. Sami Johnson 20:16; 103. Andrea Schalburg 22:44.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2017 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved