DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : sports : sports August 19, 2017

6/12/2017 9:52:00 AM
Robinson's Wright 11th at state in 800
Sports Editor

A strong start to the weekend ended with a disappointing finish for Robinson High School's Joey Wright at the IHSA Class 2A Boys Track State Finals in Charleston.

Wright, who qualified for the state meet by finishing quicker than the state standard in the 800 at the Mahomet-Seymour Sectional, opened his state finals appearance with a career-best time of 1:57.97 in Friday's (May 26) preliminary round, which placed him not only fourth in his heat, but with the fourth-fastest time overall, allowing him to move on to Saturday's (May 27) final round.

With a chance to earn a medal at state with a top-nine finish, Wright unfortunately came in 11th out of 11 runners with a time of 2:00.85.

2017 IHSA Class 2A Boys Track State Finals

At O'Brien Stadium, Charleston

Friday (May 26)


Preliminary Round

Heat 1 - 1. John Kellum (Richmond-Burton) 1:58.61Q; 2. Mitchell Kremer (Mattoon) 1:59.31q; 3. Kyle Rader (Stanford Olympia) 1:59.32q; 4. Brandon Johnson (Mascoutah) 1:59.42; 5. Craig Collier (Freeburg) 1:59.50; 6. Ben Craw (Mahomet-Seymour) 2:02.68; 7. Will Gaskin (Peotone) 2:04.52; 8. Ryan Pijanowski (LaSalle-Peru) 2:15.63.

Heat 2 - 1. Drew Wilkerson (Freeburg) 1:58.68Q; 2. Josh Cable (Rochester) 1:58.72q; 3. Brendon Sebastian (LaSalle-Peru) 1:58.81q; 4. Nick Mohrdieck (Vernon Hills) 1:59.50; 5. Mason Jones (Mt. Zion) 2:00.67; 6. Blake Jones (Lincoln) 2:00.82; 7. George Walls (Chicago Lindblom) 2:01.77; 8. Riley Fortune (Mahomet-Seymour) 2:05.03; 9. Jon Aquino (Wheaton St. Francis) 2:07.90; 10. Brendon Copp (Oak Park Fenwick) 2:09.33.

Heat 3 - 1. Evan Jacobs (Sycamore) 1:56.24Q; 2. Jake Gillum (Metamora) 1:57.24q; 3. Matthew Drendel (Rochelle) 1:57.77q; 4. Joey Wright (Robinson) 1:57.97q; 5. Chris Stanley (Cahokia) 1:58.07q; 6. Nick Oakley (Charleston) 1:58.78q; 7. Eduardo Rodriguez (Chicago Lindblom) 1:59.99; 8. Jacob Donaldson (Effingham) 2:01.18; 9. Alex Hernandez (Wheaton St. Francis) 2:04.51; 10. Artemas Ray (Chicago Noble/DRW Trading) 2:05.39.

Saturday (May 27)


1. Jake Gillum (Metamora) 1:53.74; 2. Evan Jacobs (Sycamore) 1:54.59; 3. Josh Cable (Rochester) 1:55.58; 4. Drew Wilkerson (Freeburg) 1:55.99; 5. Brendan Sebastian (LaSalle-Peru) 1:56.98; 6. Mitchell Kremer (Mattoon) 1:57.213; 7. John Kellum (Richmond-Burton) 1:57.219; 8. Matthew Drendel (Rochelle) 1:57.69; 9. Nick Oakley (Charleston) 1:57.75; 10. Kyle Rader (Stanford Olympia) 1:59.35; 11. Joey Wright (Robinson) 2:00.85.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2017 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved