Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : local news : local news
January 26, 2020

12/4/2019 10:48:00 AM
County-board race only one on primary ballot
Few local residents are running in the March 17 primaries, following the filing period that ended Monday, but there will be one race on the ballot.

Mark W. Hill, Robinson, filed to run Monday as a Republican for a District 4 seat on the Crawford County Board. He will face Shane Robinson, Robinson, who filed last week.

Both seek their party's nomination for the seat now held by George Bohman. Bohman did not file for re-election. No Democrat filed to run for the position.

Another county board incumbent, Republican Kevin Morrison, is also not running again. No one from either party filed for his seat in District 1, which means the parties will need to appoint someone to run following the primaries.

Only one other race is shaping up locally but it will not occur until the general election in November.

Earl Deckard, the GOP incumbent coroner, is unopposed in March but will face Democrat challenger Vickie Becker in the fall. She is also unopposed in the spring.

Becker is one of only four Democrats seeking local office. The other three are running for precinct committeeman positions. They are Don Daugherty, Robinson 1; Charles Wieland, Robinson 3; and Lugene Bond, LaMotte 2.

Other Republicans running in March are Angela Reinoehl for circuit clerk, Cole Shaner for state's attorney, David Fulling for Crawford County Board District 2, Kevin Dart for county board in District 3 and Jim Keller for county board in District 5.

Other GOP precinct commiteeman candidates are Denise Wells, Hutsonville 1; Douglas R. Slater, Oblong 3; Penny Lycan-Gray, Robinson 3; William Rutan, Honey Creek 2; Koert Bartman, Prairie 2; Donald Wagoner, Montgomery; Deckard, Oblong 2; Dart, Licking; and Keller, Robinson 8.

Committeemen are elected during the primary. There are 24 committeeman positions on the ballot for each party, but only nine Republicans and three Democrats are running.

Matthew Hartrich filed in Springfield as a Republican candidate for at-large circuit judge in the Second Judicial Circuit.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasVideo LibraryLife
Site Design and Content Copyright 2020 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2020 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved