DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus | Closings and Delays
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : local news : local news
December 10, 2018

12/4/2018 2:14:00 PM
Fulling selected chairman of new county board
David Fulling is the new chairman of the Crawford County Board.

Fulling, Robinson, was unanimously elected to the position at the board's post-election reorganization today.

Fulling has been on the board 14 years and was last re-elected as a Republican in District 2 in November 2016.

He succeeds former Chairman Gareld Bilyew, who opted not to seek re-election to the board this year.

Fulling thanked his fellow board members and also praised them for their choice to serve the community as elected officials.

"I want to thank everybody for running," he said. "The public appreciates you stepping up and doing the job."

Kip Randolph, recently re-elected to a new four-year term in District 2, was elected vice chairman by a vote of 6-4. Fellow Republican, Koert Bartman, was also nominated for the job.

There was some question if whether both the chairman and vice chairman could be from the same board district. Neither Fulling nor Crawford County State's Attorney Matthew Hartrich knew of any.

Also during the meeting, the board approved committee appointments, meeting dates and times and the county holiday schedule for 2019. Fulling also mentioned the rule book for county officials is being revised; it hasn't been updated since 2012.

Earlier today, the county kicked off its new fiscal year with the swearing in of officials elected in the November general election. These included Randolph and Bartman, as well as fellow board members Kevin Dart, Jonathon Goff, Don Goupil, Clint Williamson and Kevin Morrison.

All county board members are Republicans. All were elected to four-year terms, with the exception of Dart and Morrison. They were elected for two years.

Also sworn in were Crawford County Sheriff William Rutan, County Clerk Fayrene Wright and County Treasurer Twyla Bailey.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

Site Design and Content Copyright 2018 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2018 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved