DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : local news : local news July 22, 2017

4/6/2017 2:35:00 PM
Vote decides contests for township offices
Several Crawford County townships were the sites of contested races decided by Tuesday's consolidated election.

Robinson Township had a three-way race for road commissioner as well as a contested supervisor race. Eight people ran for four trustee seats.

Democrat Tony Spade, Republican Monty Murray and independent candidate Robbie Sanders all sought the road commissioner position. Justin Papantonopoulos, a Democrat, and GOP candidate Larry Corder vied for supervisor.

In the road commissioner race, Murray carried the day, garnering 1,011 votes, or 61.72 percent. Sanders received 349 and Spade received 278.

Corder won the supervisor race with 1,240 votes, or 78.48 percent, compared to Papantonopoulos' 340 votes.

In the trustee race, Republican candidates Mary Jane Parker, Thomas Hose, Patrick Richards and Kevin Steele were elected over Democrats Ernest "Rip" York, Don Daugherty, Mike McSchooler and Amy Hoke.

Republican Vickie Gribben was unopposed for township clerk, while fellow GOP candidate Sue Roberts was the only one running for township assessor.

There was a six-way race for four seats on the Prairie Township Board of Trustees. Three candidates - Charles E. Guyer, Derek Bruce Staley and Chris Weck - were Democrats, while the other three - Lyle Crane, Carmen Rains and Jacob Shonk - were Republicans.

Weck, Crane, Staley and Guyer were elected.

GOP candidates Brenda S. Wolfe, Jim Bowman and Gerald Hill were unopposed for supervisor, clerk and road commissioner, respectively.

There were no Republicans running in Hutsonville Township, but that does not mean the Democrats had no opposition.

Democrat Toni L. Earleywine defeated independents Stephanie Tingley and Laddie J. Storckman in a three-way race for township supervisor. Earleywine garnered 95 votes to Tingley's 65 and Storckman's 51.

Meanwhile, Linda Hargrave and Todd Seaney, both Democrats, and independents Mike Kraemer and Guy Rumler ran for trustee.

Tim Terry and Lance Hargrave were unopposed for township clerk and road commissioner, respectively. Both are Democrats.

In LaMotte Township, independent Fred K. McNair defeated Democrat Mike O'Neal for supervisor by a vote of 278-124.

Democrats Linda A. Fulling and George A. Fulling were unopposed for clerk and road commissioner, respectively.

Rodney E. Bond, Sharon K. Cornwell, Oscar Shields and Alan Fulling, also Democrats, were elected as trustees.

Three Democrats and three Republicans sought four trustee spots in Martin Township.

Democrats Danny K. Mundhenk and John Russell and Republicans Bill Midgett were Karon G. Inboden elected. Other candidates were Democrat Dewayne Mundhenk and GOP Joan Midgett.

Also, Republican Regina Jeannie Veach defeated Becky Mundhenk, a Democrat, for supervisor by a vote of 67-26.

Republicans Lesa Jo Yager and Donald D. Sisil ran unopposed for clerk and road commissioner, respectively.

In Honey Creek Township, Democrats Gregory A. Wampler and Lynn H. McCleave ran for supervisor and clerk, respectively, while Republican Chris Bonnell was up for road commissioner. Democrats Paul D. Reinbold and Larry W. Rodgers and Republicans Steven C. Nicholas and Leonard Sisil were elected to trustee spots.

In Oblong Township, Republican Carol "Susie" Tracy was elected supervisor without opposition. Also unopposed were Aaron Ikemire and Jerry Ping, Democrats running for clerk and road commissioner, respectively.

Democrats Karen Sue Woods and Jeff Mendenhall and GOP candidates Diana Smith Joe Henry were elected as trustee. No candidate sought the assessor's post. Vacancies such as that will be filled by appointment until the next township election.

In Licking Township, all the candidates were Republicans. Kelly S. Cheek ran for supervisor, while Connie Woodward and Jack W. Snider were unopposed for clerk and road commissioner, respectively. Elected as trustees were James Livingston, Ronald Rogers, Jeremy Snider and Travis Woodward.

A slate of GOP candidates also was unopposed in Montgomery Township. Candidates were Donald R. Wagoner for supervisor, Ramona G. Knoblett for clerk and C. Graham Parish, Lori Butcher, Adam Wesley and Doug Ford for trustees. Incumbent road commissioner Edward A. Carpenter, who was also unopposed, died March 10. He still received 45 votes.

In Southwest Township Republican canidates were Scott H. Finley for supervisor, Janice Thacker for clerk, Earl Thacker for road commissioner and Robert Baker, Clifford J. Bowers, Timothy Pfeifer and Jacob Smith for trustees.

Republican Nancy Hill was unopposed for multi-township assessor for Prairie and Licking townships, while Republican David Veach was the only candidate for multi-township assessor for Martin, Honey Creek and Southwest townships.

No one ran for multi-township assessor for Hutsonville, LaMotte and Montgomery townships.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2017 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved