DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : local news : local news July 29, 2017

4/6/2017 2:32:00 PM
Bowman, Sinclair remain Robinson aldermen

Two races were on the ballot for Robinson City Council seats, but no changes were made to the council's makeup.

In Ward 2, Alderman Karen S. Bowman was victorious over Scott A. Warren by a final tally of 128-30. Meanwhile, Alderman Gene Sinclair was the winner in the Ward 3 race against Denny Knight, 143-76.

Bowman, 58, has now been elected to the council for her third term and is looking forward to work with the city's code enforcement committee in the future.

"I work in close conjunction with the committee that is tasked with code enforcement for the city, and would like to see continued progress with improvements to the park, roads and infrastructures for the city," Bowman said. Bowman also hopes to work with this committee and help make good decisions aimed at abandoned homes and structures that do not meet the city's code.

Her reelection confirms that Bowman will remain head of the community building committee, which recently has looked to create ordinance changes towards the center's room rentals laws and the needs being met.

Bowman is also an employee of Rides Mass Transit and Arbor Rose Memory Care Facility, as well as a former precinct committeeman and a member of Robinson Free Methodist Church.

I hope to continue striving to make Robinson a safer, clean community," Bowman said.

Sinclair, 66, has been reelected following a four-year term on the council. He also serves on several committees including the finance committee, employee relations committee, wastewater committee, building renovation committee and chairman of the police committee. As chairman he looks forward to providing the city with the best police force possible.

"We must continue to have the best equipped and best trained police force that we can to ensure the protection of our citizens, and to prevent litigations against the city," Sinclair said.

Like Bowman Sinclair said he will also focus on abandoned, dilapidated structures in the city, making sure that the new building renovation committee will be properly funded.

"This committee needs to receive proper funding in order to bring the owners of such properties to repair or demolish the buildings or face condemnation proceedings from the city," Bowman said.

Two other council members retained their seats after running unopposed. Ward 1 Alderman Barbara Alexander received 195 votes, while Ward 4 Alderman John R. Birkofer totaled 361 this election.

Mayor Roger Pethtel was reelected after receiving 946 votes last night. Mayor Pethtel ran unopposed in this election and will serve another term as he has for the past eight years.

City Clerk Sandrea J. Anderson, who also ran unopposed, received 877 votes and will serve another term. She has 21 years experience as a city clerk, including her time in Robinson.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2017 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2017 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved