DotPhoto | Subscribe | Advertise | Contact Us | Deaths | School Menus
Daily News in Robinson, Ill. | Crawford County, Illinois

Advertise With Us
Forms to print
Guest Book
Video Library

US and State Elected Officials
Municipal Governments
County Officials
County Board

home : local news : local news May 24, 2016

11/8/2012 1:44:00 PM
Treadway, Rains District 4 winners in county-board vote
Rains will decide on "ability to serve" following stroke.
Two incumbents won a three-way race for two seats on the Crawford County Board Tuesday.

Democrat Shirley Treadway and Republican Charlie Rains were retained after winning a close race with Republican Terry McCoy for the board's two District 4 seats.

Treadway, who had originally not planned to run for a second term, led the way with 944 votes, or 34.58 percent of the vote. Rains garnered 909, or 33.3 percent, and McCoy had 877, 32.12 percent. Treadway carried Robinson 2 and 4, while Rains won in Prairie 2 and Robinson 9 and Robinson 3 went to McCoy won.

The question remains of whether Rains, who suffered a stroke several weeks ago, will be able to serve. Crawford County Republican Chairman Earl Deckard said the party is taking a "wait and see" attitude in the matter.

"It will be Charlie's decision" if he returns to the board, Deckard told the Daily News. He added he had not received any updates on Rains' condition recently.

Rains' son, David, relayed a message from his father to local voters, expressing his gratitude to everyone who voted for him.

"More importantly, he appreciates all the prayers, cards and thoughts after the stroke and during his time of recovery," he told the Daily News this morning.

There was only one race for county board, although 11 candidates were in the running for seats. Every decade, following the U.S. Census, board district maps are redrawn. After that, all board seats are up for election, with half the officers elected ultimately serving four-year terms and the other half two-year terms.

The determination of who gets two- and four-year terms should be made at the board's re-organization meeting Monday, Dec. 3.

Elected without opposition were Republican incumbent Robin Guyer and Democrat newcomer Toni Earleywine in District 1, GOP incumbents David Fulling and Don Richart in District 2, Republican incumbent Gareld Bilyew and GOP newcomer Allen Price in District 3, and Republican newcomers Stephen Rich and Don Lachenmayr in District 5.

Guyer received 972 ballots and Earleywine got 783. Richart garnered 1,074 votes and Fulling got 1,117.

A total of 1,094 votes went to Bilyew and 1,072 went to Price. Lachenmayr got 973 votes and Rich received 794.

Republicans now fill eight of the board's 10 seats.

Several long-time members opted not to seek re-election. Among those who did not run was Chairman Joe Bliss. Bliss, a Republican, had served in District 3 for 38 years.

Chad Wells, District 1, and Ron Williamson and John Sutfin, District 5, also chose to step down from the board. Wells and Williamson are Republicans, while Sutfin is a Democrat.

Deckard said he was "very pleased" with the election's outcome. "We have a good board," he added.

Article Comment Submission Form
Please feel free to submit your comments.

Article comments are not posted immediately to the Web site. Each submission must be approved by the Web site editor, who may edit content for appropriateness. There may be a delay of 24-48 hours for any submission while the web site editor reviews and approves it.

Note: All information on this form is required. Your telephone number is for our use only, and will not be attached to your comment.
Submit an Article Comment
First Name:
Last Name:
Anti-SPAM Passcode Click here to see a new mix of characters.
This is an anti-SPAM device. It is not case sensitive.

Advanced Search

ExtrasRobinson Living
Site Design and Content Copyright 2016 Robinson Daily News
Software © 1998-2016 1up! Software, All Rights Reserved